Reflection Blog Post

This semester has by far been the hardest that I have experienced. I feel as though I have gained as much knowledge in this single semester as I did during my four years in high school. COM 210 has been an incredibly informative and engaging course. In this class the opportunities to stretch creative thinking were abundant. I can’t think of any other course at Washington State University that gives students more hands on, real world experience.

My favorite unit was the one involving Adobe Illustrator. Before this class I had no clue that Adobe Illustrator even existed. This class gave me the opportunity to build a foundation of knowledge around the software. I have virtually no artistic ability, but through Illustrator I was able to bring an artistic idea to life. The introduction I was given to the software allowed me to tap into my creativity and produce something like this:

logo-project-final

The video production unit was second highest on my list of favorites. I have always possessed a fascination with video. It is an interest that I intended explore, but I never had the chance until taking this class. The video that I produced (found here: https://youtu.be/IqGB61Mt2z4) is one of the best pieces of work that I have ever created. I put hours into making it, and I learned so much in the process. Now video production is something that I could see myself doing as a career. I am certainly going to use the skills that I learned from this project in the future.

One issue I have with this course is that I don’t think we had enough time to spend with each specific software. Every unit was three weeks, and that is barely enough time to scratch the surface with software like Photoshop or Illustrator. I realize that all the content had to be fit into one semester, so there isn’t much that can be done. I think students would be able to get more out of this course if it was somehow able to be extended over two semesters.

Helpful websites that I used for this course are http://freemusicarchive.org/ and http://dig.ccmixter.org/free_music. These provided the background music that I used in my video story, as well as my audio story. In my opinion music is one of the most important parts of telling a story, and I found the perfect music for free from these websites.

COM 210 has been a very beneficial course. Learning how to use the Adobe Creative Cloud software is something that is both fun and useful. I would highly recommend this course to anyone, regardless of if they are majoring in communication.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

